Becoming Mary Poppins

Posted by Kiersten

In the movie Mary Poppins, Jane and Michael Banks express their expectations of their nanny:
“Wanted: a nanny for two adorable children.
If you want this choice position, have a cheery disposition…
Rosy cheeks, no warts… Play games, all sorts. You must be kind, you must be witty, very sweet, and fairly pretty… Take us on outings, give us treats, sing songs, bring sweets. Never be cross or cruel. Never give us castor oil or gruel. Love us as a son and daughter, and never smell of barley water. If you won’t scold and dominate us, we will never give you cause to hate us. We won’t hide your spectacles so you can’t see, put toads in your bed, or pepper in your tea. Hurry, Nanny! Many thanks! Sincerely-… Jane and Michael Banks!”

Although I am NOT Mary Poppins, and I do occasionally give the babies castor oil and Grey gets some gruel, I absolutely love my job as nanny to these precious 5 kiddos and I wanted to share with ya’ll the details of how all of it came to be!

I have been babysitting and nannying for families for a really long time and I love the job.During college, I declared Early Childhood Education as my major, but went back and forth in my head and in many conversations as to whether I should teach or be a nanny. My heart wanted to be a nanny, but I felt like I needed to teach. During my junior year of college I began babysitting for sweet Grey (see picture below…unfortunately Libby did not know that she would later be needing more pictures of me and Grey during the early years, so this is the only one we have! Ha =). McLean once commented that I didn’t know then what I was getting myself into, and I told him he was right, but I DID know then that Libby and McLean were really great and Grey was a genius, and I don’t think knowing would have scared me away! I loved their sweet family and bragged on Grey.

During the spring of 2010, God confirmed in so many ways my desire to be a nanny, and I began to pray specifically for a job as a nanny after graduating in December of 2010. I doubted that I would find a full time job as a nanny, but prayed for it anyway. I really started to gain confidence in telling people that I wanted to be a nanny (it is not very much a well-respected job, and I knew some people would question my decision to do that when I had a teaching degree) and did not want to teach the week before Easter of 2010. (Libby found out she was expecting quadruplets and would NEED a nanny on the Monday after Easter 2010…God’s timing is perfect.) A little over a week after Easter, I was babysitting for Grey and when Libby came home, she asked me about teaching, graduating, etc. I told her that I had really decided that upon graduating I wanted to nanny for a family full time instead of teaching. I then went on to passionately explain WHY I wanted to be a nanny. I remember her saying that nannying was just as important as teaching, and she told me that she was sure I would have no trouble finding a family to do that for (she couldn’t tell me yet that she was pregnant with 4!). I went home, again reminded of how much I loved the Wilsons.

Libby called me a few weeks later and asked me to be their nanny! I immediately said yes without ANY hesitations! After thinking about the babies ALL THE TIME for at LEAST the first 3 days of knowing, I texted Libby and told her that I was having some sort of empathy-something-feelings because I felt like I was pregnant with quads! I had to student teach during the Fall of 2010, and I could not wait to be finished with that and start this job. I thought over and over again how awesome it was that God had worked through and joined together the details of my life and the Wilson’s lives, and our heart’s desires. After years of deciding what my major should be and wanting to quit school and be a nanny, and years of the Wilson’s wanting children and not getting pregnant, he let both of those desires come to fruition at the same time.

When I see God’s sovereignty like this, I think of Acts 17:24-28. Paul says, “The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by human hands. And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything. Rather, he himself gives everyone life and breath and everything else. From one man he made all the nations, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands. God did this so that they would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from any one of us. ‘For in him we live and move and have our being.’As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’”

I love how these verses scream that God is sovereign. If he allots the times and boundaries for me to move about in, he does so with everyone else’s boundaries as well, and he intentionally has my boundaries intersect with the boundaries of others, all for His glory.

When I began to pray specifically for a job as a nanny (I even wrote in my journal that I wanted to nanny for infants!), I would never have dreamed of the possibility of nannying for Libby & McLean’s children. God certainly did more than I could have asked for or imagined. Ya’ll, they are amazing. I am so thankful to get to be a part of this party. I love being with Libby, McLean, Grey, Mimi, Mac, Yates, and Fitz every day….really…I would take them home with me if Libby would let me! As Mary Poppins’ said, “In every job that must be done, there is an element of fun. You find the fun, and – SNAP – the job’s a game!”

Grey & Kiersten May 2010

Grey & Kiersten May 2011....I think we've both aged with the events of the last year =)

Kiersten, Yates, Fitz, Mac, and Mimi

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Becoming Mary Poppins

  1. Oh, KK!! I LOVE you!!! You inspire ME to be a better mom and example to these children. God truly answered our prayer with you in giving US more than we asked for or imagined.

  2. Laura Page

    Yep, it’s Providence!

  3. Courtney

    eh-hem, eh-hem … you left out the part about who introduced this perfect match 😉

    just kidding! … i am so very glad YOU are the one loving on and helping raise these oh-so-precious children! we serve such a BIG GOD!!!

  4. Kiersten,
    This is so great! You are God’s provision! I love the way you remind all of us that He is a God with a plan and thet He goes before us to prepare the way! And I love how you make us all laugh!
    Hugs, Susan

  5. Such a neat story. I love how God is always faithful to provide even before we even know what we need (or who needs us). Thanks for saying hi!

  6. Megan Staggs

    I am so encouraged and thankful for this post. To see how Gods timing and sovereignty is just absolutely perfect.

Leave a Reply

